Select language
Quotes by phoneCustomer service
Quotes by phone 800-390-4071 Customer service 866-505-6767

Jet Ski & Personal Watercraft Insurance

Jet Ski & Watercraft Insurance California

Cost-U-Less can find the best rates and coverage to insure your personal watercraft today!

Personal Watercraft Defined

Protect your investment in your Jet Ski, Sea Doo, Wave Runner, or any personal watercraft (PWC) that accommodates up to four people. Cost-U-Less Insurance offers a variety of policies to make your water adventure a safe one!

The state of California defines a “personal watercraft” as a vessel 13 feet in length or less, propelled by machinery, that is designed to be operated by a person sitting, standing, or kneeling on the vessel rather than in the conventional manner of sitting or standing inside the vessel.

Personal Watercrafts (PWC) are subject to the same laws governing the operation of motorboats of the same size. Personal watercraft includes water jet-pump-driven boats that are generally less than 13 feet in length (Jet Skis and Wave Runners). Personal watercraft (PWC) come in many sizes and can now easily accommodate four people. In addition, many personal watercrafts can pull a skier.

Laws regarding the operation of Personal Watercraft

  • Every person on board a personal watercraft and any person towed behind a vessel must wear a Coast Guard-approved Type I, II, III, or V life jacket.
  • The law prohibits the operation of personal watercraft at any time from sunset to sunrise, even if the personal watercraft is equipped with the proper navigational lights.
  • Person under 16 years of age are prohibited from operating a motorboat of more than 15 horsepower, including personal watercraft. Any person who permits a person under the age of 16 to do so is also guilty of an infraction. A person 12-15 years of age may operate a motorboat of more than 15 horsepower if supervised by a person on board who is at least 18 years of age.

From the ABCs of the California Boating Law (2009)

California law holds that no person shall operate any craft in a reckless or negligent manner so as to endanger the life, limb or property of any person. Some examples are:

  • Navigating a vessel, skis, or other devices between a towing vessel and its tow or tows.
  • Operating under the influence of intoxicants or narcotics.
  • Jumping or attempting to jump the wake of another vessel within 100 feet of the other vessel constitutes unsafe operation.

Other actions which constitute unsafe operation are operating a PWC toward any person or vessel in the water and turning sharply so as to spray the person or vessel; and operating at a rate of speed and proximity to another vessel so that either operator is required to swerve at the last minute to avoid collision.

How do I get insurance? : Becoming insured by one of the experts at Cost-U-Less Insurance is easy! We sell customizable insurance at our local offices, online at www.costulessdirect.com and over the phone at 800-538-3213.

2014 Cost-U-Less Insurance Center ™ (CA License #OC13463)