Skip to main content

Cheap DUI Insurance in California

Getting Affordable Insurance After a DUI

Finding Low-Cost DUI Car Insurance in California

Have you been convicted of DUI in California? If so, you are finding out that your car insurance rates are significantly more expensive than before. That’s because you’ve been labeled a high-risk driver. You also probably need to file an SR-22 certificate with the DMV.

If your driver’s license was suspended and the only way you can get it back is to file an SR-22, Cost-U-Less has you covered. Even though you’ve made a costly mistake, you still need to drive to get to work and pick your kids up from school. We can help you find a policy you can afford.

What is DUI Auto Insurance?

It’s actually the same car insurance you had before – it’s just that now it is going to cost more. Why? Because you’ve shown the insurers that giving you a policy is risky.  When you identify it as DUI insurance, you are letting insurers know that you need to report a DUI on your record.

What is the Different Between High-Risk Insurance and Insurance with a DUI?

There is not different both are not actually an insurance policy.In fact, many carriers won’t even take the risk of providing coverage to someone who has been convicted of DUI. That doesn’t mean you have to settle or pay more than you can afford. You’ll just need to do a little comparing to find the right company that covers high risk drivers.

Police officer arrests drunk driver who failed a DUI test during a traffic stop.

The Average Cost of Coverage After a California DUI

The average cost for the state-required minimum liability in California is $619 per year. Those with a first-time DUI will be looking at anywhere from $2,000 to $7,000 per year.

You’ve probably already learned that a DUI is expensive. From the fines to the court requirements to the attorney’s fees, you may already be in the hole. And it is going to get worse. Car policies in California after a DUI conviction typically goes up about 165%. Rates vary depending on other factors, including your age, your driving history before the DUI, your marital status – even your occupation.

Ready to Get a Quick Quote?

How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in California?

For 10 years. It will be on your criminal record for life. The length your driver’s license will be suspended is dependent on how many offenses you have on record.

How Long Will I Have to Carry the SR-22 Certificate?

Three to five years. It is a judge who decides and they are going to take into account if there were mitigating factors (a child in the car, a wreck, speeding, etc). If you’ve got strong ties in the community, a responsible, long-term job, a family – these are all things that can get you the lesser 3 years.   Your insurer will file the form with your local DMV

It’s important to remember two things about your SR-22:

  1. If you let your coverage lapse for even one day, the counter could start over again. Say you’ve got 2 years under your belt and you forget a payment. It could go back to the original 3 years. Insurers are required by law to e-report your status to the state.
  2. You are solely responsible for keeping track of your SR-22 status. You need to remember when it started and when it ends. When it ends, you can let your insurance company know and they will notify the state.

How Long Will My DUI be a Factor in My Premium Cost in California?

Up to 10 years in California. After your SR-22 term has expired, you may slowly start to see your rates improve. Insurance companies typically look back five to seven years when determining a person’s rate. Your driving record in the interim will play a huge part in your rates after your SR-22 term has expired. In fact, keeping a stellar driving record can be the biggest thing you can do to start seeing regular rates again. If you don’t, your rates will remain high.

Glossary of Insurance Definitions

Get explanations for terms relating to car insurance

Is There Anything Else I Can Do to Improve My Rates?

It never hurts to have a sit down with your agent and let them know this was a one-off, you are really sorry and it won’t happen again. After your term expires, take a defensive driving course. If you are thinking about getting a new car, buy something safe and reliable – rates are lower for cars the industry feels are safer and easier to repair. You can also make your current vehicle safer by installing an anti-theft device.

All of these things can add up to discounts that can lower your rates.

Find Affordable DUI Insurance Quote Today

At Cost-U-Less, our bilingual and licensed agents are standing by to help you get back on the road after a DUI. We can help you find cheap car insurance with a DUI , even with an SR-22 requirement. Get a free quote for DUI insurance, visit us at one of our offices or give us a call at 800-390-4071.